4.-Members of the Nineteenth Ministry, as at Oct. 1, 19661

(According to precedence of Ministers)

Nors.—A complete list of the members of Federal Ministries from Confederation to 1913 appears in the 1912 Year Book, pp. 422-429. Later Ministries will be found in subsequent editions.

Office	Occupant	Date of First Appointment	Date of Appointment to Present Portfolio
Prime Minister. Secretary of State for External Affairs. Minister of Trade and Commerce. Minister of Transport. Minister of National Defence Minister of Finance and Receiver General of	Rt. Hon. Lester Bowles Pearson. Hon. Paul Joseph James Martin. Hon. Robert Henry Winters. Hon. John Whitney Pickersgil. Hon. Paul Theodore Hellyer.	Apr. 22, 1963 Apr. 22, 1963 Jan. 4, 1966 Apr. 22, 1963 Apr. 22, 1963	Apr. 22, 1963 Apr. 22, 1963 Jan. 4, 1966 Feb. 3, 1964 Apr. 22, 1963
Canada Minister of Public Works Minister of Indian Affairs and Northern	Hod. Mitchell Sharp Hon. George James McIleaith	Apr. 22, 1963 Apr. 22, 1963	Apr. 22, 1963 Dec. 17, 1965
Development	Hon. ARTHUR LAING	Apr. 22, 1963	Apr. 22, 1963
Canada, Minister of National Health and Welfare. Minister of Fisheries. Minister of Veterans Affairs. Secretary of State of Canada.	Hon, Lucien Caedin Hon, Allan Joseph MacEachen Hon, Hédard Robichaud Hon, Roger Tellet Hon, Judy V, LaMarsh	Apr. 22, 1963	Dec. 17, 1965 Dec. 17, 1965 Apr. 22, 1963 Apr. 22, 1963 Dec. 17, 1965
Minister of Industry and Minister of De- fence Production	Hon, Charles Mills Drurt	Apr. 22, 1968	July 25, 1963 (Apr. 22, 1963
Canada and Registrar General of Canada Minister of Labour. Member of the Administration and Leader	Hon. GUY FAVREAU	Apr. 22, 1963 Apr. 22, 1963	Dec. 17, 1965 Dec. 17, 1965
of the Government in the Senate Minister of Forestry and Rural Develop-	Hon. JOHN JOSEPH CONNOLLY	Feb. 3, 1964	Feb. 3, 1964
ment. Minister of National Revenue and President.	Hon. Maurice Sauvé	Feb. 3, 1964	Feb. 3, 1984
of the Treasury Board Associate Minister of National Defence Solicitor General of Canada Minister of Energy, Mines and Resources Minister of Manpower and Immigration	Hon. Edgar John Benson Hon. Léo Alphonse Joseph Cadieux Hon. Lawrence T. Pennell. Hon. Jean-Luc Pépin Hon. Jean Marchand		June 29, 1964 Feb. 15, 1965 Dec. 17, 1965 Dec. 17, 1965
Minister of Agriculture	Hon, John James Greene Hon, Joseph Julien Jean-Pierre	Dec. 17, 1965 Dec. 17, 1965	Dec. 17, 1965 Dec. 17, 1965
Member of the Administration	CôrÉ	Dec. 17, 1965 Dec. 17, 1965	Dec. 17, 1965 Dec. 17, 1965

Changes occurring between Oct. 1, 1966 and the date of going to press will be carried in an Appendix to this volume.

Parliamentary Secretaries.—The Parliamentary Secretaries Act (SC 1959, c. 15), assented to June 4, 1959, provides for the appointment of 16 Parliamentary Secretaries from among the Members of the House of Commons to assist the respective Ministers in such manner as each Minister may direct. The Government thus revived the system of parliamentary assistantships in practice during the World War II and postwar years subsequent to 1943, whereby Cabinet Ministers might receive assistance in the performance of their parliamentary functions and promising Members of the House might secure a degree of apprenticeship for higher public office. Parliamentary Secretaries hold office for 12 months.

At Oct. 1, 1966, the following Parliamentary Secretaries were in office:-

Secretary	<u>Minister</u>
JOHN MATHESON	Prime Minister
BRUCE S. BEER JOHN C. MUNBO	Agriculture Manpower and Immigration
Donald S. Macdonald	External Affairs
JJ. Jean Chrétien Richard Casein	Finance and Receiver General Fisheries
BRYCE S. MACKASET. JACK DAVIS.	Labour Energy, Mines and Resources
Margaret Rideout James E. Walker	National Health and Welfare National Revenue and President of the
STANLEY HAIDASZ	Treasury Board Indian Affairs and Northern Development
John B. Stewart	Public Works Secretary of State
Jean-Charles Cantin James A. Byrne	Trade and Commerce Transport
	-